8 Places to Ride Your Bike this Summer

0
2451

Maybe you ride your bike to work. Perhaps to cycle to the store. But do you go on long bike rides that allow you to explore the city while getting in some exercise? If you answered ‘no’, you’re missing out! Here are 8 great rides to try out when the weather is fair (or not, if you’re feeling badass).

8 Places to Ride Your Bike This Summer

By Olivia Lam

  • Stanley Park

    By Olivia Lam

    [Stanley Park](http://vancouver.ca/parks-recreation-culture/stanley-park.aspx) is an all-time Vancouver classic when it comes to biking. You can bring your own bike, rent a bike near the park or even try a tandem bike if you're feeling old-timey. It's a fairly easy path around the park and seawall, just watch out for others sharing the road and mind the one-way portions. The park lends itself well to stopping along the way to enjoy the views and an [ice cream](http://vancouver.ca/parks-recreation-culture/dining-in-stanley-park.aspx) treat or a [seaside dip](http://vancouver.ca/parks-recreation-culture/second-beach-pool.aspx).

  • Iona Beach

    By Olivia Lam

    Start your ride at [Iona Beach Park](http://www.metrovancouver.org/services/parks/parks-greenways-reserves/iona-beach-regional-park) and cycle on the gravel path along the water. There will be plenty to see on the ride, including jets taking off and landing, herons, ducks and picnic spots to stop at for a break. It'll be a fairly leisurely ride unless you extend your path to Sea Island. If you're feeling up for it, you can pop your bike on the Canada Line and ride from [Templeton Station](http://thecanadaline.com/station-guides/templeton-station/#.VZsWZu1Viko).

  • Riley Park & Queen Elizabeth Park

    By Olivia Lam

    Take the Ontario Street bike route to [Queen Elizabeth Park](http://vancouver.ca/parks-recreation-culture/queen-elizabeth-park.aspx) and map out your own unique path. Go around the park, detour through some side streets and perhaps end your day off at [Nat Bailey Stadium](http://www.milb.com/index.jsp?sid=t435) for a Vancouver Canadians game or the [Bloedel Conservatory](http://vancouver.ca/parks-recreation-culture/bloedel-conservatory.aspx).

  • Confederation to New Brighton Park

    By Olivia Lam

    This is a neat park to park trail that lets you explore the area, pass by playgrounds and leads you under the Iron Workers Memorial Bridge. It's an easy ride with a touch of industrial history plus breath taking views. If it's a hot day, bring along your bathing suit and take a dip in the [outdoor pool at New Brighton](http://vancouver.ca/parks-recreation-culture/new-brighton-pool.aspx).

  • Seymour Valley Trailway

    By Olivia Lam

    This is a beautiful forested trail for leisurely bikers and families. It's paved, so you don't have to worry about the terrain, but there are a few slopes for the thrill seekers. You could also end your cycling session with a visit to [Rice Lake](http://vancouverhiatus.com/hiking/rice-lake.html) just off the trail for a quick cool down or an afternoon romp in the water.

  • Minnekhada Circle

    By Olivia Lam

    The Minnekhada Circle passes [Minnekhada Regional Park](http://www.minnekhada.ca/) and trails along Pitt River in Coquitlam. You can park near Victoria and Cedar Drive and bike up the latter street towards the park. Be cautious as bears are often seen along Oliver Road in the summer and fall, which could make for a very exciting ride. Otherwise, enjoy the wooded scenery as you take a quick reprieve from the city.

  • Barnston Island

    By Olivia Lam

    City dwellers will find [Barnston Island](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barnston_Island_(British_Columbia)) a treat because of its countryside seclusion between Surrey and Pitt Meadows. Pack water, snacks and any other necessities for an island ride that has nothing but grassy farmland, cows and beautiful blue skies on a nice day. Bonus: You'll get to take a little ferry to get there.

  • Steveston

    By Olivia Lam

    Start your trip at [Garry Point](http://www.richmond.ca/parks/parks/SigParks/parkinfo/park.aspx?ID=17) and follow the water and bike signs east. Along [Dyke Road](http://www.richmond.ca/parks/trails/trails-map/southdyke.htm), you can go as far as [Finn Slough](http://www.finnslough.com/) all while taking in the beautiful ocean scenery. You'll pass the wharf and the town so don't hesitate to make a few pit stops and check out this quaint area—we recommend [Pajo's](http://www.pajos.com/locations/steveston-on-the-wharf/) and the [Dole Whip stand](https://www.zomato.com/vancouver/screamers-soft-serve-treats-steveston-richmond).