Liberal Joyce Murray re-elected in Vancouver Quadra


Liberal Joyce Murray has been re-elected in Vancouver Quadra. Photo by Dan Toulgoet/Vancouver Courier

Another win is in the books for Liberal Joyce Murray, as the Vancouver Quadra incumbent secures her seat in the 2019 election.

Conservative – Kathleen Dixon
Independent – Austen Erhardt
People’s Party – Sandra Filosof-Schipper
NDP-New Democratic Party – Leigh Kenny
Liberal – Joyce Murray
Green Party – Geoff Wright

Murray is a former provincial environment and government services minister and was elected as an MP in 2008 after first running two years earlier. Murray came in second place behind Justin Trudeau to be the new party leader in 2013 and was appointed president of the Treasury Board and Minister of Digital Government in early 2019.

Before entering politics, she worked with an international reforestation company that Murray says has planted roughly 1.5 billion trees — of which Murray planted more than 500,000 on her own.

Since electing Prime Minister John Turner in 1984, the riding has consistently sent a Liberal MP to Ottawa.

With files from John Kurucz/Vancouver Courier

Previous articleLiberal Hedy Fry re-elected in Vancouver Centre, winning ninth consecutive mandate
Next articleTrudeau has won the most seats — but not a majority. What happens next?
Lindsay is the Managing Editor of Vancouver Is Awesome, and the co-host and co-producer of the Vancouver Is Awesome Podcast. A fifth generation Vancouverite and life-long foodie, Lindsay also serves as a judge for the Vancouver Magazine Restaurant Awards. Previously the Food Editor of Daily Hive, Senior Editor of Vancity Buzz, and Editor-in-Chief of, in her past life in L.A. she earned an MA in English, attended culinary school, and was an English professor. Lindsay's first published piece was December 1980 in The Province; it was her letter to Santa. E-mail: // Twitter/Instagram: @squashblossom