NDP Jenny Kwan re-elected in Vancouver East


Jenny Kwan/Facebook

Incumbent NDP MP Jenny Kwan took another landslide win in her riding of Vancouver East.

Libertarian – Gölök Z Buday
Green Party – Bridget Burns
Conservative – Chris Corsetti
Liberal – Kyle Demes
ML – Anne Jamieson
NDP-New Democratic Party – Jenny Kwan (INCUMBENT)
People’s Party – Karin Litzcke
Communist – Peter Marcus

The riding, which includes the Downtown Eastside, Chinatown, Strathcona and Grandview-Woodland neighbourhoods, is known for its working class roots.

Voters have, apart from two brief flirtations with the Liberal party, elected NDP candidates every election since the party was founded back in 1961.

Deputy NDP leader Libby Davies, who held the seat from 1997 to 2015, chose to retire prior to the last election cycle, passing the torch to former NDP MLA Jenny Kwan who won handily, much like this time in 2019.

With files from John Kurucz/Vancouver Courier

Previous articleNDP Don Davies re-elected in Vancouver-Kingsway
Next articleIndependent Jody Wilson-Raybould elected in Vancouver Granville
Lindsay is the Managing Editor of Vancouver Is Awesome, and the co-host and co-producer of the Vancouver Is Awesome Podcast. A fifth generation Vancouverite and life-long foodie, Lindsay also serves as a judge for the Vancouver Magazine Restaurant Awards. Previously the Food Editor of Daily Hive, Senior Editor of Vancity Buzz, and Editor-in-Chief of LAist.com, in her past life in L.A. she earned an MA in English, attended culinary school, and was an English professor. Lindsay's first published piece was December 1980 in The Province; it was her letter to Santa. E-mail: lindsay@vancouverisawesome.com // Twitter/Instagram: @squashblossom