Skip to content
Join our Newsletter
VIA store 300x100
Join our Newsletter

Food inspection agency says variety of vegan chocolate bars contains milk

Two varieties of the chocolate company's bars are affected
ichoc-vegan-chocolate-recall
Photos via iChoc - vegan chocolate/Facebook

OTTAWA — The Canada Food Inspection Agency has issued a warning that a brand of vegan chocolate bars actually contains milk.

The agency put out the allergen alert late Sunday, saying that two varieties of iChoc vegan bars contain improperly labelled milk.

It says the affected bars are the White Vanilla Vegan bar and the Classic Vegan Bar.

The bars are advertised as being made with "rice drink" and note in the nutrition information that they may contain "trace amounts" of milk.

But the CFIA says that anyone with an allergy to milk should not consume the bars, because it could be dangerous to their health.

The agency says the allergen alert was prompted by consumer complaints and has not caused any known illnesses.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published on May 24, 2020.

 

 





Comments