Skip to content
Join our Newsletter
VIA store 300x100
Join our Newsletter

You can sail on this posh cruise from Vancouver to the Hawaiian Islands for a steal

If you've always wanted to visit the Hawaiian islands but hate or fear flying, this cruise from Vancouver offers a chance to beat the aviation woes.

 Photo: Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head Crater including the hotels and buildings in Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu island, Hawaii. Waikiki Beach in the centre of Honolulu has the largest number of visitors in Hawaii / ShutterstockPhoto: Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head Crater including the hotels and buildings in Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu island, Hawaii. Waikiki Beach in the centre of Honolulu has the largest number of visitors in Hawaii / Shutterstock

Glistening white sand beaches, lush, tropical vegetation, and sweeping ocean views are just a few of the reasons travellers flock to Hawaii each year.

If you've always wanted to visit the Hawaiian islands but hate or fear flying, this Holland America Line cruise from Vancouver offers a chance to beat the aviation woes.

And while the cruise departs in 2020, it is advised to book well in advance. Not only is Hawaii a highly sought-after destination, but cruises of this kind are also few and far between. As a result, people tend to reserve space far ahead of the departure date.

The cruise departs Vancouver on Sunday, Sept. 20 from Canada Place and travels for five days at sea. From there, the cruise stops in Nawiliwili, Kauai for the day on Sept. 26. Next, it overnights in Honolulu, Oahu on Sept. 27. The cruise makes its second to last stop in Lahaina, Maui on Sept. 28 and the final stop in Hilo, Hawaii on Sept. 30. Guests will enjoy another five days at sea before stopping in Victoria on Oct. 6. The cruise disembarks in Vancouver on Oct. 7.


















Date Port Arrive Depart
Sunday, September 20 Vancouver, BC, Canada 5:00pm
Monday, September 21 At Sea
Tuesday, September 22 At Sea
Wednesday, September 23 At Sea
Thursday, September 24 At Sea
Friday, September 25 At Sea
Saturday, September 26 Nawiliwili, Kauai, HI 8:00am 6:00pm
Sunday, September 27 Honolulu, Oahu, HI 7:00am
Monday, September 28 Honolulu, Oahu, HI 11:00pm
Tuesday, September 29 Lahaina, Maui, HI 7:00am 11:00pm
Wednesday, September 30 Hilo, Hawaii, HI 7:00am 5:00pm
Thursday, October 1 At Sea
Friday, October 2 At Sea
Saturday, October 3 At Sea
Sunday, October 4 At Sea
Monday, October 5 At Sea
Tuesday, October 6 Victoria, BC, Canada 2:00pm 10:00pm
Wednesday, October 7 Vancouver, BC, Canada 7:00am

Known as the "17-Day Circle Hawaii," the voyage offers incredible value. In total, two guests will pay $4,508 USD for an interior cabin. This equals $5,970.78 CAD including all taxes and fees, or $2985.39 CAD per person. Divided by 17 nights, this breaks down to $175.61 CAD per day including all taxes and fees.

Not only does that cost include your transportation on a beautiful five-star vessel, but it also includes meals, entertainment, snacks, and lodging. The only thing it doesn’t factor in is alcohol, but you may opt to purchase a drink package that can reduce the cost of your spending.

Guests will sail on the elegant, five-star Westerdam, which offers two swimming pools, a tennis court, a basketball court, renowned spa treatments, an arcade, Memphis music in B.B. King’s Blues Club, a casino, tennis and much more.

 Photo: Photo: Holland America Line

Hawaii offers a range of natural gems to explore on each of the islands as well as a plethora of places to dine, shop, and catch live shows. From the Mauna Kea Summit to the massive, approachable populations of manta rays, the rich history of Lahaina to the stunning Waikiki Beach, the islands ooze tropical beauty.

You can find out more information and book your cruise here.